博客

澳門消費者保護法:對消費者實施的不正當營商行為

February 16,2022

作者: 馬天龍,資深合夥人 吳佩愉,實習律師

《消費者權益保護法》 (09/2021號法律)已於202211日生效。在法律保護消費者的諸多方式中,規定了針對消費者的不正當營商行為。

不正當營商行為是指不按職業操守而作出的營商行為,可導致以下效果:

    1. 扭曲或實質扭曲消費者的交易決定;
    2. 基於某類商品或服務影響消費者的交易決定。

對於評定營商行為之正當與否,一般情況下,需按一般消費者的標準評定。如屬特定消費群體,則需參考該群體內一般成員的標準為之。

法律明文禁止不正當的營商行為。如消費者發現其受到不當營商行為影響,可主動提起法律訴訟,終止在相關行為影響下訂立之合同。另一方面,消費者亦可選擇遵循衡平原則申請變更合同,而變更的範圍可以只針對非有效的條款,其餘有效的部分可繼續維持。

《消費者權益保護法》將不正當營商行為分為誤導性營商行為威嚇性營商行為

誤導性營商行為:

誤導性營商行為是指向消費者傳遞有關商品或服務的不實訊息,如散佈虛假的特價或減價、歪曲有關買賣之合法性或不購買商品或服務的風險、誇大商品或服務的功能、失實陳述可提供之期間、展示虛假的食品安全或消費者信心的認證等。

在推銷商品或服務時亦可能會出現誤導性營商行為,例如聲稱某名人或公眾人物取得該商品或服務;或向消費者建議某價格購買商品,但隨後拒絕提供,以推銷其他商品或服務;又或虛假推銷來自某一特定生產商的商品。

值得一提的是,經營者往往會透過培訓或教育活動推廣商品或服務。然而,若經營者沒有就此類推廣時間向消費者作出提前通知,則屬誤導性營商行為。

另外,提供含糊不清的報價或對所謂免費或贈與的產品或服務收取費用的的不當行為,亦構成誤導性營商行為。例如經營者可能會向消費者提供一個模棱兩可的報價,起初表示對相關商品或服務不會收費,或表示贈送額外商品或服務,但之後卻要求消費者支付相關費用。

威嚇性營商行為:

威嚇性營商行為是指經營者的行為令消費者產生負面印象、以不當的方式接觸消費者,並作出某些特別要求以勸阻消費者行使其權利。

如令消費者產生恐懼或不安的情緒造成不購買商品或服務則無法離開有關的商業場所的印象;又或帶給消費者虛假的印象令消費者誤以為已經或將因作出某種行為而贏取獎品或利益。

另外,如經營者與消費者接觸的方式不當,亦會構成威嚇性營商行為。例如,在消費者並未有要求的情況下,經營者若持續以電話、圖文傳真、電子郵件或其他遠程通訊方式作出消費請求;或經營者無視消費者的拒絕,而再次到訪消費者的住所與其接觸。然而,如經營者是為履行合同規定的義務而為之,則可被排除。

最後,在某些情況下,如消費者因經營者不必要、不合理、不適當或不公平的行為而不願行使其合同權利,並被要求提交某些文件、執行某些行為或程序,亦視為威嚇性營商行為。例如,經營者要求消費者填寫過多或複雜的表格,或要求消費者在不當時間前往商業場所或其他地點,或要求其前往澳門特別行政區以外的地點。

除消費者外,提供商品和服務的公司亦須考慮杜絕所列之行為,以避免簽訂日後可能會受到消費者質疑的合同。有關此主題的更多資訊以及您的個案詳情,請聯系C&C律師事務所暨私人公證署。


 馬天龍,資深合夥人 sardinha@ccadvog.com 

吳佩愉,實習律師 kafy@ccadvog.com

在此處下載此文章。

相關事件
September 28, 2022 -

上海錦天城(青島)律師事務所一行到訪澳門C&C 律師事務所

[su_row][su_column size="1/3"] 2022年9月27日,上海錦天城(青島)律師事務所的八位代表到訪了到訪了我們C&C律師事務所。 錦天城律師事務所成立於1999年,...

May 19, 2022 -

澳门金融法律学会专家走进横琴粤澳深度合作区活动成功举办

"5月13日,珠海横琴琴澳金融服务有限公司(下称琴澳金服)举办“聚力创新  ‘融’入合作区”澳门金融法律学会专家走进横琴粤澳深度合作区(下称合作区)活动,邀请了...

April 29, 2022 -

C&C律師事務所與大成律師事務所簽署戰略合作協議

2022年4月28日,C&C律師事務所(下稱「C&C」)與國際律師事務所-大成律師事務所(下稱「大成」)簽署戰略合作協議。 為推動橫琴粵澳深合區未來法律制度的發...

March 23, 2022 -

澳門消費者保護法: 供應消費品合同

作者: 陳子健, 法律專家 現已生效的第9/2021號法律《消費者權益保護法》在其第五章分別規範了供應消費品合同。本文先介紹供應消費品合同。  為適用本合同制...

January 27, 2022 -

澳門《信託法》

作者: 陶義德 (António Isóo de Azeredo), 資深大律師  澳門立法會一般性通過新《信託法》,其規定了各自法律制度。先前,澳門信託法律存在空白,有礙信託法律...

January 17, 2022 -

澳門消費者保護法

作者: 潘卡莉, 法律專家 《澳門消費者權益保護法》於2021年6月24日通過並於2022年1月1日起生效。 該法例保障消費者權益,尤其作出下列定義和規範: ...

Blog

Macau Consumer Rights Protection Law: Improper Business Practices against Consumers

February 16,2022

by: Nuno Sardinha da Mata, Senior Partner & Ng Pui U, Trainee Lawyer

The Macau Consumer Rights and Interests Protection Law (Law 09/2021) (CRPL) entered into force on January 1, 2022. Among the several features that the law brings to the defence of the consumers, the law foresees improper business practices against consumers.

“Unfair business practices” are defined as business practices that are not conducted professionally and that have the effect of either:

    1. Distorting or substantially distorting a consumer’s decision;
    2. Affecting a consumer’s decision based on a particular type of good or service.

In general, the standards used to determine the legitimacy of a business are those of the average consumer. In the case of a specific consumer group, reference should be made to the standards of the general members of that group.

Improper business practices are expressly prohibited by law. If consumers become aware that they have been affected by improper business practice, they may initiate a court action on the contract entered into influenced by said practice. On the other hand, consumers may choose to follow the principles of fairness and apply for a revision of the contract, which may be limited to the non-valid clauses, with the remaining valid parts remaining.

The CRPL distinguishes and divides improper business practices into two major categories: misleading and aggressive.

Misleading Business Practices:

Misleading business practices disseminate false information about goods or services to consumers. Some examples of these are spreading false representations of special or reduced prices, misrepresentations about the sales’ legality or the risks of not purchasing the good of services, exaggerated features, false claims about their period of availability, false certifications of food safety or consumer confidence.

Misleading business practices may also occur when marketing goods or services. Some examples are claiming that a celebrity or public figure has obtained them, suggesting a specific price but then refusing to provide said goods or services with the intent of selling different ones or falsely promoting items as being from a particular manufacturer.

It is worth noting that operators often promote goods or services through training or educational activities. However, failure to provide advance notice to consumers of the timing of such promotions is considered a misleading business practice.

In addition, inappropriate behaviour when providing quotations with ambiguous descriptions or demanding fees for products or services said to be free or gifted also constitutes misleading business practices. For example, an operator may offer a vague quote to consumers, initially state that they will not charge for the relevant goods or services, or advertise that it will give away additional items but then require consumers to pay for them.

Aggressive Business Practices:

Aggressive business practices are those in which the operator acts in a way that creates a negative impression of the consumer, reaches out to the consumer in an inappropriate manner, and makes particular demands to dissuade the consumer from exercising their rights.

One example is creating fear or anxiety in consumers by making them believe that they cannot leave the business premises without purchasing goods or services or giving the false impression that they have or will win a prize or benefit by engaging in certain conduct.

In addition, inappropriate contact methods between an operator and a consumer may also constitute aggressive business practices. For example, if an operator continues to make consumer requests by telephone, e-mail or other means of remote communication without being requested to do so by the consumer, or if the operator ignores the consumer’s refusal and revisits their home to make contact with the consumer. However, it can be excluded if the operator acts that way to perform its obligations under the contract.

Finally, under specified circumstances, it’s considered aggressive business practice if a consumer is discouraged from exercising their contractual rights by an operator’s unnecessary, unduly, inappropriate or unfair conduct requiring them to submit certain documents or perform certain acts or procedures. For example, if an operator requires a consumer to fill out forms that are too redundant or complicated, or requires the consumer to visit a commercial establishment or other location at an inappropriate time, or to travel to a location outside of the Macau SAR.

The prohibitions of the listed practices must be taken into account by consumers and companies supplying goods and services to avoid contracts that consumers may later contest. For more information on this subject and the specifics of your case, please contact C&C Lawyers & Notaries.


 Nuno Sardinha da Mata, Senior Partner | sardinha@ccadvog.com

 Ng Pui U, Trainee Lawyer | kafy@ccadvog.com

Download this article here.

Releated Stories
November 14, 2022 -

Interview of Dr. Zhao Lu on TDM

Dr. Zhao Lu, the Senior Partner of C&C, was honored to be invited as a guest speaker on the TDM program "Red Rhythms"to address the Law of Macau a...

November 05, 2022 -

C&C Lawyers’ sponsor on 928 Challenge 2022

C&C was pleased to sponsor this year’s edition of the 928 Challenge in Macau, a startup competition for university students from China and Portugu...

November 05, 2022 -

Field Visit of students from the City University of Macau to C&C Lawyers

On 3 of November 2022, a class of 30 students from the City University of Macau, from the Faculty of Business and the Business Law class (BBA - second...

September 28, 2022 -

AllBright (Qingdao) Law office’s visit to C&C Lawyers Macau

On September 27, 2022, eight representatives of the Chinese law firm AllBright Qingdao office were warmly welcomed by our office, C&C Lawyers Ma...

May 19, 2022 -

C&C Lawyers’ Senior Partner Nuno Sardinha da Mata and other Macau Financial Law Association experts visited the Hengqin Guangdong-Macao In-Depth Cooperation Zone

On May 13th, the Zhuhai Hengqin Qin Ao Financial Services Co., Ltd. hosted experts from the Macau Financial Law Association in the Hengqin Guangdong-M...

April 29, 2022 -

C&C Lawyers and Dentons sign strategic cooperation agreement

On April 28, 2022, C&C Lawyers and Notaries and international law firm Dentons signed a strategic cooperation agreement. C&C Lawyers and Dent...