博客

澳門保險活動管制法例之更新

今年早些時候,澳門立法會已經討論並原則上通過了壹項關於更新並修訂六月三十日第27/97/M 號法令的法律提案:澳門保險活動管制法例(MICO)。雖然澳門官方公報在未來幾個月才會公布該修訂法,但預計在該修訂法生效時將不會有重大變化。

September 11,2019

陶義德 和 羅成軒

自1997年9月適用以來,澳門保險活動管制法例能夠有效應對保險行業的挑戰及快速發展已經有二十多年。然而,澳門保險業務活動發展日新月異,是需要對現有規定進行修訂的原因,並提供壹個符合現今市場現實的修訂制度。

澳門保險活動管制法例的修訂法賦予了幾個變化,並且為監管機構、私人本地及外地保險人提供工具以充分滿足整個保險業的需求。總的來講,我們強調那些修訂帶來的比較重要影響。

對於有意加入本地保險人的公司,申請要求有所增加,包括集團結構、投資計劃、償付能力保證金條款、營銷模式和雇員計劃等事項。此外,公司機構成員的聲譽標準被加固和增強,避免保險活動被指控或裁決為洗錢罪、恐怖主義融資活動罪而承擔責任。

在向澳門監管機構提交的許可和授權申請必須具體說明風險管理機制、內部控制、打擊洗黑錢和恐怖主義融資活動措施的條件和要求。

另壹方面,本地註冊的人壽保險和壹般保險的最低股本也被提高,提高的還有在外地註冊的保險公司的分支機構註入的資本。

此外,技術規定的要求所有提高。通過要求壹般保險公司按照牢靠和精算準則制定風險規定, 其覆蓋和保險範圍被修訂以確保和遵守監管要求。這些公司的償付能力也被要求增加,以提供穩健的管制。

澳門保險活動管制法例的修訂法針對保險人(擴大解釋方法),也針對澳門監管機構的權力和任務。澳門金融管理局的活動和監管權力將予以更新,其實施方式將在修訂後的澳門保險活動管制法例提供。

監管機構成員及其員工、保險公司和再保公司的機構成員及其員工、會計師、審計師、顧問和律師都被要求專業性保密,並提供了相應的例外和退出標準。 此外,與數字文件記錄的方式和條款有關的規定,以及相應的、有價值的證據也根據時代的要求進行了更新。

最後,澳門保險活動管制法例的修訂法提供了澳門保險公司和在外地註冊的保險公司分支機構的必須實施和執行的所有必要行為的術語, 以遵循澳門法律。 壹般術語在澳門保險活動管制法例修訂法生效之日算起180天內制定。

澳門本地保險公司及在外地註冊成立的保險公司分支機構都被授予18個月的特定期限,以符合新資本要求及開設基金。

雖然澳門保險活動管制法例的修訂法規定了足夠的期限,但澳門保險人應警覺,根據法律變化變更其內部結構、執行修訂法所要求的措施,這些都需要與澳門監管機構配合,而且需要時間。因此,適當和謹慎的方法應當被采取,我們隨時為您提供幫助。

 

我們將會持續更新這壹特別重要的事項,敬請關註C&C的新聞通訊

 

陶義德
資深大律師
isooazeredo@ccadvog.com
羅成軒
實習律師
joserodrigues@ccadvog.com
相關事件
January 27, 2022 -

澳門《信託法》

作者: 陶義德 (António Isóo de Azeredo), 資深大律師  澳門立法會一般性通過新《信託法》,其規定了各自法律制度。先前,澳門信託法律存在空白,有礙信託法律...

January 17, 2022 -

澳門消費者保護法

作者: 潘卡莉, 法律專家 《澳門消費者權益保護法》於2021年6月24日通過並於2022年1月1日起生效。 該法例保障消費者權益,尤其作出下列定義和規範: ...

December 31, 2021 -

第8/2021號法律《酒店業場所業務法》

作者: 巴慧雅, 大律師 第8/2021號法律《酒店業場所業務法》將於二零二二年一月一日生效,並廢止現行生效之四月一日第16/96/M號法令。 第8/2021號法律制定酒店...

September 23, 2020 -

[已更新] 澳門《保險業務法律制度》的更新

作者: 陶義德 (António Isóo de Azeredo), 資深大律師 和 羅成軒(José Rodrigues), 法律專家 大約一年前,我們在此處分享了文章——當時即將修改六月三十日第 2...

February 20, 2020 -

保險業網絡安全新指引

陶義德 和 羅成軒 澳門金融管理局(AMCM)最近發布了新的保險業網絡安全指引。 該指引與保險業務中的大多數運營機構有關,特別是與獲授權保險公司、再保險公...

October 31, 2019 -

澳門塑膠袋之新法,將會影響誰?

馬傑安 和 羅成軒 該法旨在減少塑膠袋對環境的負面影響,並將總體適用於零售業場所的銷售。 澳門立法會在認可公眾呼籲的減少塑膠袋使用和發展公眾自帶袋子習慣...

Blog

Update of the Macau Insurance Companies Ordinance

Earlier this year, the Macau Legislative Assembly has discussed and generally approved a Law proposal for updating and revising Decree-Law 27/97/M of June 30th: the Macau Insurance Companies Ordinance (“MICO”). While the Macau Official Gazette is yet to publish this revising law in the next few months, no significant changes are expected, once it becomes in force.

September 11,2019

by António Isóo de Azeredo and José J. Rodrigues

Applicable since September 1997, MICO has been effective in facing the challenges and rapid evolution of the Insurance sector for more than twenty years. However, the impressive development of the insurance activity in Macau justifies the need for updating the existing regulation, presenting a revised regime that will be in accordance with today’s market reality.

This MICO revising law imposes several changes and provides tools that enable the regulator and private local and foreign entities to thoroughly face the demands of the insurance sector as a whole. In overview, we emphasize some that bring a more significant impact.

Application requirements are extended for companies intending to incorporate a local entity, including matters such as groups’ structure, investments plans, solvency margin provisions, marketing models, and employment of staff plans. Additionally, reputation criteria of members of corporate bodies are to be reinforced and strengthened, averting from responsibilities of insurance activity those charged or found guilty of money laundering or terrorism financing crimes.

Conditions and requirements of risk management mechanisms, internal controls, AML, and CFT measures must be specified within the license and authorization application, to be filed before the Macau regulator.

On the other hand, minimum share capital required for locally incorporated life and non-life insurers is to be increased, as well as the funds allocated to branches of insurance companies incorporated overseas.

Furthermore, the requirements of technical provisions are improved. By demanding non-life insurance companies to put in place risk provisions based on solid actuarial principles, the respective coverage and guarantee are revised to ensure and comply with supervision requisites. The increase of solvency margin will also be required from these companies to provide for steady control.

This new law revising MICO will target not only insurance activity entities (in an extended interpretation) but also the powers and tasks of the Macau Regulator. The Macau Monetary Authority’s activity and supervision powers are to be updated, and the means of its implementation are to be provided in the revised MICO.

Professional secrecy requirements are imposed to members of the Regulator’s bodies and their staff, as well as to members of the corporate bodies of insurance and reinsurance companies, their employees, accountants, auditors, consultants, and attorneys, with respective exceptions and withdrawal criteria provided as well. Additionally, provisions related to means and terms of the recording of digital documents, and respective evidence value are updated to today’s demands.

Finally, the MICO revising law provides the terms within which Macau Insurance Companies and branches of insurance companies incorporated overseas must enforce and execute all necessary acts to comply with Macau Law. General terms are provided in 180 days, counted from the date the MICO revising law comes into force.

A specific deadline of eighteen months is granted for both Macau Insurance Companies and branches of insurance companies incorporated overseas to comply with the new share capital requirements and establishment funds, respectively.

While the MICO revising law provides adequate deadlines, Macau Insurance entities should bear in mind that updating their internal structure according to these legal changes and implementing the required measures derived from the revising law, which need to liaise with the Macau Regulator, would take time. Therefore, an appropriate and cautioned approach should be adopted, and we are here to assist you with it.

We will keep you updated on this particularly important matter so please stay tuned with C&C’s newsletter. Subscribe here.

António Isóo de Azeredo
Senior Associate Lawyer
isooazeredo@ccadvog.com
José J. Rodrigues
Trainee Lawyer
joserodrigues@ccadvog.com
Releated Stories
May 19, 2022 -

C&C Lawyers’ Senior Partner Nuno Sardinha da Mata and other Macau Financial Law Association experts visited the Hengqin Guangdong-Macao In-Depth Cooperation Zone

On May 13th, the Zhuhai Hengqin Qin Ao Financial Services Co., Ltd. hosted experts from the Macau Financial Law Association in the Hengqin Guangdong-M...

April 29, 2022 -

C&C Lawyers and Dentons sign strategic cooperation agreement

On April 28, 2022, C&C Lawyers and Notaries and international law firm Dentons signed a strategic cooperation agreement. C&C Lawyers and Dent...

March 23, 2022 -

Macau Consumer Rights Protection Law: Understanding Contracts for the supply of consumer goods

by: Kimi Chan, Jurist Law no. 9/2021, "Law for the protection of consumer rights and interests", currently in force, regulates contracts for the supp...

February 16, 2022 -

Macau Consumer Rights Protection Law: Improper Business Practices against Consumers

by: Nuno Sardinha da Mata, Senior Partner & Ng Pui U, Trainee Lawyer The Macau Consumer Rights and Interests Protection Law (Law 09/2021) (CRPL) ...

January 27, 2022 -

The Macau Trust Law

by: António Isóo de Azeredo, Senior Associate Lawyer Macau is finally taking the last steps of a long legislative path to approve and implement a tru...

January 17, 2022 -

Macau Consumer Rights Protection Law

by: Candice  Pun, Jurist The Macau Consumer Rights and Interests Protection Law (Law 09/2021) was approved on June 24, 2021, and entered into force o...