博客

通常居住的概念

March 08,2021

作者: 巴慧雅, 大律師

澳門以其多元文化環境而聞名,我們中的許多人或是朋友、同事或者認識其他人申請了澳門居留。

在談到申請澳門居留證時,談論最多的問題是通常居住的概念和在澳門特別行政區居留183天的標準。當局均認為這兩項都是支持批准或拒絕續期居留許可的決定的基本要求。

因此,澳門居民身份證的續期並非自動進行,並須符合第4/2003號法律和第5/2003號行政法規所規定的前提和要件。申請人在澳門特別行政區的定期居留對其居留許可的維持和續期至關重要。如果申請人未能按照第4/2003號法律第9條第3款和第5/2003號行政法規第24條的規定在澳門通常居住,則可撤銷該許可。

那什麼是通常居住?

根據第8/1999號法律第5條第1款的法律,推定澳門居民身份證持有人須在澳門通常居住。《澳門民法典》第30條第2款將通常居住地定義為個人實際且固定之生活中心之所在地。

正如中級法院於2020年7月2日就第473/2019號案件作出的判决所述,法理上認為,一個人通常居住的地方,以及他們通常在短期或長期離開後返回的地方是通常居住地,但不妨礙因相關原因而長期不在此地。

根據終審法院最近於2021年1月27日作出的第182/2020號案件的判决,僅僅停留(實際居住)在某一領土並不足以被視為“常住居民”。還需要有成為這一地區居民的意願,這一意願可以根據個人、家庭、社會和經濟日常生活的幾個方面來衡量,這些方面表明他/她的社會生活“實際參與和分享”。

因此,為確定一個人是否在澳門有通常居住,有權當局將根據具體情況具體評估這一未定概念,以確定其核實(或不核實)。

一旦申請人獲得居留許可,有權當局通知,除第4/2003號法律和第5/2003號行政法規規定的其他法律要求外,他們應在澳門通常居住。即自居留批准生效日期起,申請人每年須在澳門居留不少於183天,且每次離澳連續不超過半年。

應當指出的是,特殊和相關的理由可以證明離開是合理的。如,應僱主公司邀請在澳門以外的地方參加專業培訓計畫,或因長期患病在澳門以外住院而接受適當治療。

因此,根據上述的中級法院的判决,在澳門過夜留宿或個人在某個地方長期實際居住並不是確定個人通常居住的唯一標準。

鑒於某些法律概念的主觀性和當局通常的解釋方式,合格專業人員對居留申請個案評估可讓其受益。有關此主題的更多資訊以及您的個案詳情,請聯系C&C律師事務所暨私人公證署。

 

巴慧雅
大律師
verabastos@ccadvog.com

在此處下載此文章。

相關事件
September 23, 2020 -

[已更新] 澳門《保險業務法律制度》的更新

作者: 陶義德 (António Isóo de Azeredo), 資深大律師 和 羅成軒(José Rodrigues), 法律專家 大約一年前,我們在此處分享了文章——當時即將修改六月三十日第 2...

February 20, 2020 -

保險業網絡安全新指引

陶義德 和 羅成軒 澳門金融管理局(AMCM)最近發布了新的保險業網絡安全指引。 該指引與保險業務中的大多數運營機構有關,特別是與獲授權保險公司、再保險公...

October 31, 2019 -

澳門塑膠袋之新法,將會影響誰?

馬傑安 和 羅成軒 該法旨在減少塑膠袋對環境的負面影響,並將總體適用於零售業場所的銷售。 澳門立法會在認可公眾呼籲的減少塑膠袋使用和發展公眾自帶袋子習慣...

September 26, 2019 -

澳門關於毛坯鑽石貿易的新制度

by: Nuno Sardinha da Mata & Gonçalo Figueiredo 《金伯利進程證書制度》是按照聯合國大會第55/56號決議制定,於2003年起實行,旨在防止戰爭區域開采的鑽...

September 11, 2019 -

澳門保險活動管制法例之更新

陶義德 和 羅成軒 自1997年9月適用以來,澳門保險活動管制法例能夠有效應對保險行業的挑戰及快速發展已經有二十多年。然而,澳門保險業務活動發展日新月異,是...

August 19, 2019 -

Running a business in Macau

by: Vera Bastos Macau is known for its multiculturality and diversity – and this uniqueness is also reflected in the legal system. From the very begi...

Blog

The concept of Regular Residence

March 08,2021

by: Vera Bastos, Associate Lawyer

Macau is known for its multicultural environment, and many of us have either a friend, a colleague or know someone who has applied for Macau residency.

When we talk about the application for a residence permit in Macau, the most talked-about issues are the concept of regular residence and the criteria of 183 days’ stay in the MSAR. Both are considered by the authorities as essential requirements to support the decision to approve or reject the renewal of a residence permit that will pave the way to permanent residence.

Therefore, the Macau Resident Identity Card’s renewal is not automatic and is subject to the conditions and requirements established by Law No. 4/2003 and by Administrative Regulation No. 5/2003. The regular residence of the applicant in the MSAR is essential for the maintenance and renewal of their residence permit. Such permit may, in turn, be revoked if the applicant fails to reside regularly in Macau, as per article 9, number 3 of Law No. 4/2003 and article 24 of Administrative Regulation No. 5/2003.

So what is the regular residence?

According to the legal presumption provided in article 5, number 1 of Law No. 8/1999, Macau Resident ID Cardholders are presumed to reside in Macau regularly. Number 2 of article 30 of the Macau Civil Code defines regular residence as the place where an individual holds the effective and stable centre of their personal life.

As mentioned on a decision from the Court of Second Instance dated 02/07/2020 in case no. 473/2019, legal doctrine considers regular residence the place where a person usually lives and where they usually return to after shorter or longer absences, without prejudice to extended absence due to relevant reasons.

According to a recent decision from the Court of Last Instance dated 27/01/2021, case no. 182/2020, the mere stay (physical presence) in a certain territory does not suffice to be considered a “regular resident”. The intention to become a resident of this same territory is also required. That can be measured based on several aspects of the personal, family, social and economic daily life that indicate an “effective participation and sharing” of their social life.

Thus, to determine if a person has a regular residence in Macau, the competent authorities assess this undetermined concept on a case-by-case basis for determining its verification (or not).

Once the applicant obtains the residence application’s approval, the competent authority informs that, to renew and maintain the residence permit, among other legal requirements established by Law No. 4/2003 and Administrative Regulation No. 5/2003, they should regularly reside in Macau. Namely, the applicant should stay in Macau at least 183 days per year and not being absent for more than six consecutive months starting from the effective date of the residence authorization.

It should be noted that special and relevant reasons may justify the absence period. Namely, to attend a specialization training program outside of Macau at the invitation of the company that is employing the applicant or receiving appropriate treatments due to extended illness and hospitalization outside of Macau.

Therefore, staying overnight in Macau or the extended physical presence of an individual in a place are not exclusive criteria for determining an individual’s regular residence, according to the decision mentioned above from the Court of Second Instance.

Due to some legal concepts’ subjective nature and the way the authorities usually interpret them, residence applications benefit from a case-by-case assessment by a qualified professional. For more information on this subject and the specifics of your case, please contact C&C Lawyers & Notaries.

 

Vera Bastos
Associate Lawyer
verabastos@ccadvog.com

You can download this article here.

Releated Stories
September 23, 2020 -

[UPDATED] Update of the Macau Insurance Companies Ordinance

by António Isóo de Azeredo (Senior Associate Lawyer) and José J. Rodrigues (Jurist) Around one year ago,  we shared an overview of what was, at the t...

February 20, 2020 -

The new Guideline on Cybersecurity for the Insurance Sector

by António Isóo de Azeredo and José Rodrigues The Macau Monetary Authority (AMCM) recently issued a new Guideline on Cybersecurity for the insurance ...

October 31, 2019 -

Who will be impacted by Macau’s new plastic bag law?

by: João Nogueira Marques and José Rodrigues This Law aims to reduce the negative impact of plastic bags on the environment and will apply to sales b...

September 26, 2019 -

New Regime on the Trade of Rough Diamonds in Macau

by: Nuno Sardinha da Mata & Gonçalo Figueiredo The KPCS was established in 2003 after the United Nations General Assembly Resolution A/RES/55/56 ...

September 11, 2019 -

Update of the Macau Insurance Companies Ordinance

by António Isóo de Azeredo and José J. Rodrigues Applicable since September 1997, MICO has been effective in facing the challenges and rapid evolutio...

August 19, 2019 -

Running a business in Macau

by: Vera Bastos Macau is known for its multiculturality and diversity – and this uniqueness is also reflected in the legal system. From the very begi...